Tagged: ,

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hello, I’m working through the Accelerator and in the process I’m also attempting to model out a real life hotel development project. My background is more in multifamily, but we have an interesting opportunity to bring a hospitality development and I’m wondering if there is a difference in the way that you would calculate the development cash flows…? My instinct is that you model out the unlevered portion first, similar to multifamily, and then you can use the same (straight line or s-curve) loan method to determine leveraged financials.

ALSO, do you happen to have a hotel development model? I didn’t see it in the list of hotel options, only acquisition, value add, etc…

User AvatarMichael Belasco

Hi Brett,

Thanks for the question. You are correct in that you would model it the same way you would a multifamily or any other development deal; as the goal of building out a development cash flow for any asset, hotel or otherwise, is to try to mimic the anticipated development schedule, and thus, the funding requirements over time. In that respect, there is no real difference to how we would model hotel development cash flows. There are, however, unique budget line items and considerations for hotels, which is a different question.

And if you are using debt, you will likewise build out a draw schedule the same as you would for any other asset type to properly allocate these costs between equity and debt (draw schedules are covered in Section 7 – Intro to Real Estate Debt).

To answer your second question, we unfortunately do not have a hotel development model, yet. In the queue…

Hope that answers your question and best of luck with this opportunity!

MB

Anonymous
    Inactive